U10 Marlins Junior Development Squad

Congratulations to the ten Seaforth Raiders selected for the U10 Manly Marlins Junior Development Squad:

Zach Osborn
Tommy Burton
Harry Hopkins
Henry Akhurst
Ollie Cassie
Charlie Yates
Sinclair Lyne
James Bousie
Benji Kagho
Sam Clarke-Moar

A total squad of 34 players travelled to the NSW Junior Rugby Union State Championships held on the Central Coast from the 20 -21 July. The weekend was blessed with perfect weather – a frost greeted us all on both mornings but was soon replaced with glorious sunshine and perfect rugby playing conditions.

On day one both teams went unbeaten with some great running rugby being played, particularly by the Marlins Blue team. The boys all went off for some early evening pasta and pizza with high hopes of remaining unbeaten by the end of the weekend. 

Unfortunately, the Reds team lost a close game to Gordon and then were beaten by the Illawarra A team. The final game against the Rats was cut short by injury leaving the Reds with 3 wins and 3 losses. The Marlins Blue team convincingly beat a strong Gordon team before playing Penrith in a hard, physical encounter. The speed and ball handling skills of the Manly backline proved the difference as the Blues ran out winners. The final game against Illawarra was a bit of a romp home ensuring Manly Blues were one of only a handful of teams to remain unbeaten over the weekend. 

The weekend was a great success for all involved along with some bonding and new friendships created. The added intensity of Rep football can only benefit the boys returning to the Raiders team. A special thanks to Boru Kagho, Glen Dwyer and Mandy O’Donnell for training and managing the boys.

Stay tuned for the U11 Marlins report.

Comments are closed.